Gluten Allergies

An allergic reaction to gluten can come in two basic forms: celiac disease, a severe autoimmune disorder that affects the small intestine’s ability to absorb gluten, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. In both cases, the only way to manage symptoms are to avoid gluten altogether. Typically, this means avoiding foods made of any of the following types of grain:

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale (wheat/rye hybrid)
  • Kamut (“Oriental wheat” or “ancient wheat”)
  • Emmer/Farro
  • Einkorn

Following these guidelines can help with preventing an allergic reaction to gluten.

Gluten Allergies Guidelines

  • 1 Eating a gluten-free diet is the only known treatment for gluten-related allergies.
  • 2 Gluten can be found in many unexpected places, such as soy sauce or other condiments, and many processed foods.
  • 3 Although oats do not contain gluten, cross-contact often occurs between oats, wheat, and other grains, potentially leading to an allergic reaction.
  • 4 Alternatives to grains containing gluten include quinoa, millet, rice, beans, and nut flours.
  • 5 Always read food ingredient lists to determine whether gluten may be present.
  • 6 Establish separate storage and cooking materials for gluten-free and gluten-containing ingredients to avoid cross-contact.

Gluten Allergies Checklist

  • Know what grains contain gluten.
  • Understand how gluten may be used in unexpected products.
  • Check all food labels for grains containing gluten and their derivatives.